Where have I been?


I haven’t updated my blog in awhile. The wind kind of went out of my sails over the past few months. But I’ve been keeping busy. Very busy.

In addition to my regularly scheduled work, I started doing some books reporting for the paper. Those of my friends who recall it will know I once had a books blog going that was strong and regularly updated … until I got a job.

The joke now is that after I graduated, I rejoiced that I would have time to read again. I wouldn’t have to read philosophy and communication/journalism theory books. I started reading books I bought years ago and had intended to read. But now I’m back to required reading.

And I love it.

So here’s what I’ve been up to over the last few months, in reverse chronological order:

I interviewed Stuart Woods.

I interviewed John Sandford.

I interviewed Sue Grafton.

I interviewed Patricia Cornwell.

I covered Stuart Woods’ appearance at a local fundraiser.

I interviewed Kristin Hannah.

I previewed an event featuring two authors.

Yesterday, I covered the above event. It was supposed to feature the two authors, but one had to cancel because of a family emergency. My next interviews are Jodi Picoult (also covering her appearance here) and Harlan Coben.

So here’s what I want to know: What are you reading right now? What are your favorite authors? What kind of book reviews do you read, if any?

 

 

2 responses to “Where have I been?

  1. One of the most interesting authors I’ve heard speak, if you get a chance to interview him, is Brian Selznick, author of The Invention of Hugo Cabret (the source for multi-Oscar-winner Hugo) and Wonderstruck, which was the main topic of the talk I heard.

    I think he’s got sort of a canned spiel, but it’s insightful and articulate, and if your readers haven’t heard it before, they would probably find it very interesting. Coincidentally, his explanation of his own creative process for Wonderstruck also ties in ideas about silent movies — an updated version of which beat Hugo for the Best Picture award and how they “leveled the playing field” between deaf and hearing audiences.

    I just noticed he’s also got a recent book out (November 2011) about the making of the movie Hugo — the talk I heard included some glowing comments about how Martin Scorsese worked with him to interpret the book.

  2. Wow. Someone just introduce me to Coben’s work. I am reading ‘Tell No One’ right now. Please send links once you’ve completed the interview.
    Also, I have a friend who is a huge Jodi fan. Let us know when that interview is completed, too. You’ve been busy, Ethel. Nice work!

    We missed you, but you have a great deal of ‘stuff’ to show for your hiatus.

Leave a Reply

